Call on Congress to Lead By Example, Practice the "Golden Rule" Every Day

Today, Congressman Charlie Crist (D-FL) joined with Congressman Mike Johnson (R-LA) and Congresswoman Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-CA) to announce bipartisan legislation establishing July 12th as a National Day of Civility. In addition to announcing this legislation, Crist and Johnson are distributing wristbands that read "Practice the GOLDEN RULE every day!" to remind all members of the House and Senate that Congress must lead by example. To watch this morning's announcement, please click here or below. 

"Matthew 7:12 reads 'in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you.' It’s the Golden Rule. In our civil discourse, we must strive to disagree without being disagreeable and practice the Golden Rule every day."

This legislative effort follows last week's report on civility in America, which found that incivility has reached “crisis levels” in our country.  Nine out of 10 Americans agree that incivility leads to intimidation, threats, harassment, discrimination, violence, and cyberbullying.  A majority of Americans believe that incivility in our politics encourages general incivility in society and deters citizens from engaging in public service.

The resolution has the support of a majority of members of the freshman class, which has been leading the way with their Commitment to Civility earlier this year. Original cosponsors include: Reps. Jodey C. Arrington (R-TX), Don Bacon (R-NE), Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-CA), Jack Bergman (R-MI), Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE), Anthony G. Brown (D-MD), Ted Budd (R-NC), Salud O. Carbajal (D-CA), Liz Cheney (R-WY), J. Luis Correa (D-CA), Val Butler Demings (D-FL), Dwight Evans (D-PA), John J. Faso (R-NY), A. Drew Ferguson (R-GA), Brian K. Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Mike Gallagher (R-WI), Tom Garrett (R-VA), Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Ro Khanna (D-CA), Ruben Kihuen (D-NV), Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL), Al Lawson (D-FL), Jason Lewis (R-MN), Roger W. Marshall (R-KS), Brian Mast (R-FL), A. Donald McEachin (D-VA), Paul Mitchell (R-MI), Stephanie Murphy (D-FL), Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ), Jimmy Panetta (D-CA), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Francis Rooney (R-FL), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), John H. Rutherford (R-FL), Brad Schneider (D-IL), Lloyd Smucker (R-PA), Darren Soto (D-FL), Thomas R. Suozzi (D-NY), Scott Taylor (R-VA), and Claudia Tenney (R-NY).

Keep In Touch

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.

Office Locations